Friday, June 26, 2009

It's been 2 months since Elections. Still CPI does not forget Mangalagiri

TDP, TRS, CPI and CPM formed an alliance called Maha Kutami (Grand Alliance). Around 20 seats are given to CPM and 13 seats are given to CPI. Their alliance was in trouble since the day one and they never had proper co-operation among themselves. In the first phase of elections, in few places, TRS and TDP contested together and in another place TRS and CPI contested together. Eventhough they had formed alliance, still more than one party contesting was common.

In the second phase of the elections, both CPM and CPI contested together in Mangalagiri. General Secretary of CPI, Narayana says that, Chandrababu gave Mangalagiri seat to CPI, but, CPM violated the alliance policy and filed nomination there. Since that day, everyday Narayana is criticizing CPM for contesting in Mangalagiri. Mangalagiri became very popular by that.

Communists have strong base in Mangalagiri since Independence. First MLA of Mangalagiri belongs to CPI. Till 1975, CPI was always in first two positions in all the assembly elections. After that, Janatha Party, and then Telugu Desam Party won in Mangalagiri. Very soon, TDP got very strong base in Mangalagiri, and TDP candidate Dr.M.S.S.Koteswara Rao defeated famous actress Jamuna. After that, TDP formed alliance with Communists. Eventhough, TDP has strong base in Mangalagiri, and it can contest there, still it had to give it to communists, because that was the best place for communists. Since then, CPM has been contesting there, and it was in the first two places till 2003.

In this election, CPM and CPI got 25,000 each and Congress won with around 50,000 votes. I don't know when will CPI stop criticizing CPM about Mangalagiri. Till then, Mangalagiri gets free publicity.

No comments:

Post a Comment